Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Audio Device Selection

Question Audio Device Selection

Hi,

I'm new to Crew Chief, I've only just installed it for use with iRacing.

I have to say installation was pretty painless, updated everything and installed the Microsoft Speech runtimes to get it working.

I do however have a question.

Is it possible to select what device the audio is output on? Or does it just default to the Windows Default device?

I only ask as I'd like my PC to use the built in soundcard, but have Crew Chief use my Logitech headset for output, as I do for all the audio output and communication in iRacing.

I've currently had to set the PC to default to the headset, and it would be nice not to have to keep switching back and forth when not in Sim.

Thanks

To my knowledge from my installation, you have to stick with default. I tried in Iracing different combinations but that did not work. Some games give you the option separate sounds.

Run the app, Right click your speaker icon in the tray and click "Open Sound settings", in the righthand side of the window there is something "App volume and device settings" click that as well, here windows lets you select both output device and input device pr app.

Thanks Sparten, I found that on my own eventually, although for some reason when I first set Crew Chief to use my headset it screwed up all the sounds, and I had to reboot to get the sound back in iRacing.

However, I've got it all sorted now and it's working fine.

Scratch that, it does not consistently play on the headset, even though it's set to in the sound settings ... weird.

I have tried to do this through Windows 10 settings with the output going to headset, and the background noise comes in through the headset, but the crew chief and spotter radio checks still go through speakers.