Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: F1 2018

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    5

    F1 2018

    Does CrewChief work with F1-2018 on PS4??

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    5
    I do not think it does.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    5
    I didn’t think so That’s a shame.
    Should be SO useful in that game as a when you drive in cockpit mode you can’t see your wing mirrors unless you want to look like you’re sitting in the rear wing.

  4. #4
    Crew Chief Mega Corp CEO mr_belowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    1,126
    i did look at the UDP data format for F1 2018, and it's very complete - the developers have done a great job there. However, i don't have the game and it doesn't work in VR so I can't really play it anyway (my wheel is attached to my VR rig). This means I'd be developing the app 'blind', assuming that the UDP data is exactly as it appears and works exactly as described. This is rarely the case - it takes a lot of time to work around all the quirks and unexpected behaviours for each game.

    Having said that, i've wired up the basic stream reading using longtomjr's UDP client mapping stuff here: https://github.com/RacingSimTools/F1UdpNet
    I've had to change the way the app reads the data a bit and i'm unable to test it but it's a start

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    5
    Cheers for getting back to me Mr Belowski. It IS surprising that they haven’t included VR support in this years game.
    I’m happy and appreciate that you’re thinking about it and trying to figure out how to make it work with F1 2018.
    I’m happy to help out with any testing or anything need however I’m on PS4 not PC. You got back to me on another thread about trying out a few things to get CrewChief working on my laptop for Project Cars 2 on my PS4. I got home too late tonight, I’ll give it a shot tomorrow and let you know how it goes????

  6. #6
    Crew Chief Mega Corp CEO mr_belowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    1,126
    i've wired up a basic F1 2018 spotter implementation, but this is based on several assumptions about how the game's UDP data works. If all of these assumptions are correct then the spotter should work. If some are not correct then it might do nothing at all, or give seemingly random calls because it's rotating the opponents' world co-ordinates incorrectly (because the app's not interpreting the player rotation data correctly). So it's a bit of a long shot. Of course, this also depends on your network allowing the UDP traffic between the game and the app.

    Still, it would help me if someone would give this beta a try and report what happens:

    http://crewchief.isnais.de/CrewChiefV4.9.5.1.msi

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    5
    Done, I’ll give it a shot. If it doesn’t work on my Laptop due to whatever network/communication issues I’m having there, I’ll try it on my Samsung Tablet which is where I’ve been using CC for the last 6months with Project Cars 2.

    I’ll let you know how it goes ????

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    2
    Hey, first off - Thanks for doing this!

    I just recently heard of this tool and was wondering if it works with F1 2018. So I downloaded your beta and tried it. (default config, first installment)

    F1 2018 has two UDP formats: "2018" and "Legacy". With "2018" I get a lot of these: "Error reading UDP data Index was outside the bounds of the array." and obviously the spotter does not work. The "Legacy" option does not throw any logs or errors, however I got no response from the spotter while testing.

    I only tried Grand Prix Mode in FP1 while dangling with the AI, but no spotting happened.

    12:55:15.726 : Using game definition F1 2018 (spotter only)
    12:55:15.761 : Loading default command macros from installation folder
    12:55:15.765 : Loaded 94 default car class definitions and 0 user defined car class definitions
    12:55:15.780 : No user defined landmarks found
    12:55:15.789 : Starting queue monitor
    12:55:16.797 : Monitor starting
    12:55:16.812 : Polling for shared data every 100ms
    12:55:16.821 : Initialising...
    12:55:16.824 : Listening for UDP data on port 20777
    12:55:26.219 : Error reading UDP data Index was outside the bounds of the array.
    12:55:26.235 : Error reading UDP data Index was outside the bounds of the array.
    12:55:26.274 : Error reading UDP data Index was outside the bounds of the array.
    ...

  9. #9
    Crew Chief Mega Corp CEO mr_belowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    1,126
    yes, i screwed up that beta - I fixed the code yesterday but haven't updated the installer yet. Just a minute, i'll do it now and add a link...

  10. #10
    Crew Chief Mega Corp CEO mr_belowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    1,126
    here you go:

    http://crewchief.isnais.de/CrewChiefV4.9.5.1.msi

    As I said previously, i don't have the game so this is all a combination of guesswork and interpreting the UDP format specification, and (as you've already seen) it's entirely untested. But I'd really appreciate some feedback

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •