PDA

View Full Version : Spotter doesn't work after driver swap



TOCA2FREAK
10-28-2018, 03:56 PM
Spotter doesn't work after driver swap. I can start a stint and the spotter works fine. I then let my team mate take over and leave. When it's my turn to drive again I join as a spectator select the car and wait for my team mate to pit. I then take over and drive out of the pits where now the spotter no longer works. Can this be fixed?

Thanks.

TOCA2FREAK
10-28-2018, 03:59 PM
Sorry just seen someone has already reported this error. I will try to run the CC trace and report back with the steps that causes this issue.

The Iron Wolf
10-28-2018, 04:55 PM
Sorry just seen someone has already reported this error. I will try to run the CC trace and report back with the steps that causes this issue.

Driver swap is not implemented yet. I need a committed volunteer to guide me through driver swap with traces, testing and feedback, because I am not familiar with driver swaps in rF2. There's also a chance that there's nothing I will be able to do, depending on how internals work. But I'll do my best, as this is something I really want to complete.

TOCA2FREAK
10-28-2018, 07:06 PM
Driver swap is not implemented yet. I need a committed volunteer to guide me through driver swap with traces, testing and feedback, because I am not familiar with driver swaps in rF2. There's also a chance that there's nothing I will be able to do, depending on how internals work. But I'll do my best, as this is something I really want to complete.

I'm happy to test this with you. I also have access to Phoenix Racing Club's (http://phoenixracingclub.net/) servers to test with. ;)

The Iron Wolf
10-28-2018, 09:00 PM
I'm happy to test this with you. I also have access to Phoenix Racing Club's (http://phoenixracingclub.net/) servers to test with. ;)

I do need traces though. I will be busy in the next 2 weeks, but if you could collect traces and explain what exactly you did, what happened and what you would like to happen I'll have a look.

mr_belowski
10-28-2018, 09:33 PM
i'll be able to have look this week so copy me in please :)

TOCA2FREAK
10-31-2018, 08:08 PM
Okay I will test this as soon as I can and get back to you guys. ;)

TOCA2FREAK
11-01-2018, 06:49 PM
Attached is the .gz file for the test I done. The forum will not allow me to attached the .txt file as it is too big so I will paste it into here, so I have uploaded that here (https://drive.google.com/file/d/1alYddMMtX2HsO9aZoE1FGX8ljdF82rVF/view?usp=sharing).

175

So I joined the server normally and started driving with some AI cars on track. I let some cars go past and the spotter was working. My friend then joined the server as a spectator and selected me to ride with. I then request pitstop and select my friend in the pitstop menu. I then drive into the pits and stop at the box. There is then a countdown for the driver swap and when it reaches zero my friend can then drive the car.

I leave the server and rejoin as a spectator. I select my friend and press the passenger select key to ride with him. He then requests a pitstop and chooses me in the pitstop menu. He then stops at our pit box and I wait for the countdown timer to reach zero. I then drive the car out on track and this is when the spotter no longer works.

mr_belowski
11-02-2018, 08:20 AM
the file appears to be truncated / corrupted - any chance of uploading it to GoogleDrive or something like that?

TOCA2FREAK
11-03-2018, 05:11 PM
You can get the .gz file here. (https://drive.google.com/file/d/19gyeDPVeYoDZlA71FS4wgPgbIQP9GrTN/view?usp=sharing)

mr_belowski
11-05-2018, 08:23 AM
having spent a couple of hours rummaging through this trace and I'm still not sure what we can do here. I see some changes in the data that might be the result of a driver swap, but it's all a bit fuzzy to be honest. I have to wonder if the game is sending usable data in these scenarios.

Did you stop and restart the session at any point? I would be helpful to have a very precise script of actions - e.g. 2 players and no AI, 1 practice session. Player 1 exits pit and does a lap while player 2 spectates. Player 1 pits at the end of this lap and player 2 takes over. He does a lap and pits and hands over to player 1 again, who then does a lap.

We don't need AI car data here - we just need player data to understand what the game is sending. There are a few variables that can be affected by driver swaps and it's hard to untangle them from the noise unless there's a very specific and well known set of events taking place

TOCA2FREAK
11-05-2018, 08:39 AM
Okay I did join a server with about 15 AI drivers. I done this to show the spotter worked before the driver swap. I also never closed CrewChief during the time I left the server as the driver and then rejoined as a spectator ready to take over.

When I get the chance I can try again with no AI. I will join the server as the driver. Wait for my friend to join as a spectator. I will then drive out of the pits and my friend will then press his button to ride with me. I will then request a pit stop and select my friend and drive into the pits. My friend will then take over and drive out of the pits. He will drive slowly to allow me the time to rejoin as a spectator and ride with him so he can then go straight to the pits and allow me to take over again. I will then take over the car and drive out and do one lap and drive straight back to the pits and end the session and close CrewChief.

I hope the above will make the file less noisy for you.

mr_belowski
11-05-2018, 08:48 AM
that would be great, thankyou.

Just to clarify, is it only the spotter that stops working here? Do you still here other messages?

TOCA2FREAK
11-05-2018, 01:23 PM
It's just the spotter that doesn't work. Other messages work fine.

TOCA2FREAK
11-06-2018, 03:02 PM
Still not got around to testing with no AI guys but have posted about this over at Studio-397 forums here (https://forum.studio-397.com/index.php?threads/spotter-not-working-after-driver-swap.61562/) and someone pointed me to this thread (https://forum.studio-397.com/index.php?threads/making-a-plugin-survive-driver-swaps.50312/).

The Iron Wolf
11-06-2018, 03:39 PM
Still not got around to testing with no AI guys but have posted about this over at Studio-397 forums here (https://forum.studio-397.com/index.php?threads/spotter-not-working-after-driver-swap.61562/) and someone pointed me to this thread (https://forum.studio-397.com/index.php?threads/making-a-plugin-survive-driver-swaps.50312/).
We are aware of this thread and of the link Lazza linked, but that is not enough to figure solution out. Please provide a shorter single session trace as Jim suggested, so that we can decode exact sequence of events better. Also, I think it will be helpful to include a few AIs in a race, but not 15.

mr_belowski
11-08-2018, 11:51 AM
OK, today's release includes a workaround submitted by kcr55 for this issue. It would be good if you could confirm whether this works :)

TOCA2FREAK
11-10-2018, 11:54 AM
OK, today's release includes a workaround submitted by kcr55 for this issue. It would be good if you could confirm whether this works :)

Good to hear. I am unable to test if this works as my rig is out of order presently. Will have to wait until I receive a new part before I can test this. Good work though guys :D