PDA

View Full Version : Issue assigning button when using Fanatec CSL McLaren GT3 rim



wuputah
06-15-2018, 04:15 AM
Hi,

I have the Fanatec CSL Wheel Base and bought the McLaren rim they just released.

I'm having some trouble with assigning a button to CC when using this rim. Whenever pressing a button on the rim, I get 3 detections by CC, e.g.:

21:09:43.980 : Got button at index 3
21:09:43.983 : Got button at index 36
21:09:43.984 : Got button at index 48

I can also get a 36+48 to register just by moving the rim after pressing Assign, so I suspect its wheel movement signals that are being picked up.

I just discovered there's a v311 driver version (I was on v310) so going to see if that makes any difference now, but dont want to lose this post, so going to post now and will come back shortly. :)

wuputah
06-15-2018, 04:21 AM
Ok, I'm on all the latest software and firmwares and the behavior didnt change.

I was hoping to change the setting to button 3 manually as a workaround, but I went through the settings (the XML file) and couldnt find how to do so. I was able to find a workaround by using button 3 on my other rim, though, then switching rims. Guess I'm using button 3 on that rim now. ;)

mr_belowski
06-15-2018, 10:33 AM
the config file you need to edit is in

C:\Users\[user name]\AppData\Local\Britton_IT_Ltd\CrewChiefV4[some random rubbish]\4.9.3.2\user.config

(or whatever the latest version version subfolder is)


Do the assignment from the CC interface, and save it (even if you think it got the wrong button ID) - the device ID should still be correct.

Look for the button index you want in that config file and edit the value element by hand - e.g. CHANNEL_OPEN_FUNCTION_button_index



<setting name="CHANNEL_OPEN_FUNCTION_button_index" serializeAs="String">
<value>19</value>
</setting>
<setting name="CHANNEL_OPEN_FUNCTION_device_guid" serializeAs="String">
<value>6f1d2b61-d5a0-11cf-bfc7-444553540000</value>
</setting>
<setting name="CHANNEL_OPEN_FUNCTION_device_type" serializeAs="String">
<value />
</setting>

blake-lee43
07-26-2018, 09:13 AM
the config file you need to edit is in

C:\Users\[user name]\AppData\Local\Britton_IT_Ltd\CrewChiefV4[some random rubbish]\4.9.3.2\user.config

(or whatever the latest version version subfolder is)


Do the assignment from the CC interface, and save it (even if you think it got the wrong button ID) - the device ID should still be correct.

Look for the button index you want in that config file and edit the value element by hand - e.g. CHANNEL_OPEN_FUNCTION_button_index



<setting name="CHANNEL_OPEN_FUNCTION_button_index" serializeAs="String">
<value>19</value>
</setting>
<setting name="CHANNEL_OPEN_FUNCTION_device_guid" serializeAs="String">
<value>6f1d2b61-d5a0-11cf-bfc7-444553540000</value>
</setting>
<setting name="CHANNEL_OPEN_FUNCTION_device_type" serializeAs="String">
<value />
</setting>


Hi I'm also having the same issue, it keeps setting off the talk button ever second as well. I've tried this fix above and it hasn't worked

blake-lee43
07-30-2018, 06:11 AM
So nothing on this then?

The Iron Wolf
08-01-2018, 05:22 AM
See if this helps: https://forum.sector3studios.com/index.php?threads/mclaren-650s-gt3-steering-wheel.8455/page-4#post-149633