PDA

View Full Version : Update 4.9.6.4 Not Working?



Buhnanah
01-29-2019, 02:52 AM
I downloaded CrewChief and the version from the download opens up normally. But then when I try to update it to the latest version and try to launch the application, nothing happens. The application is not actually opening up.

I see it in my Task Manager as a running process, but the window doesn't appear anywhere. So I ended the process and tried reopening it and it's still the same issue. So I uninstalled it completely and reinstalled it, and it works fine again with the old version. But then when I go to update it again to the newest version, the same thing occurs. Anyone else having this issue or know what I can do to fix it?

mr_belowski
01-29-2019, 05:49 AM
That's very odd. Are you sure it's not minimising to the system tray?

There might be something in the windows event logs (look in Event Viewer, under Application Logs) - see if there are any .Net errors and post them here.

Jab31169
01-30-2019, 11:55 PM
I downloaded CrewChief and the version from the download opens up normally. But then when I try to update it to the latest version and try to launch the application, nothing happens. The application is not actually opening up.

I see it in my Task Manager as a running process, but the window doesn't appear anywhere. So I ended the process and tried reopening it and it's still the same issue. So I uninstalled it completely and reinstalled it, and it works fine again with the old version. But then when I go to update it again to the newest version, the same thing occurs. Anyone else having this issue or know what I can do to fix it?

Same exact issue, will not start but shows as running in process manager.

PeacefulPatriot115
01-31-2019, 04:12 AM
Can confirm Crew Chief Runs in process manager but does not open. I've tried reinstalling, rebooting, and running as administrator. Any chance we can roll back?

Sparten
01-31-2019, 04:50 AM
Try this http://thecrewchief.org/showthread.php?28-F-a-q&p=2945&viewfull=1#post2945

mr_belowski
01-31-2019, 05:47 AM
As none of the dev team can reproduce this, it might be a bit of a challenge to fix. Can one of you guys with the issue try deleting your config file (rename the .../AppData/local/britton_it_ltd/ folder) and see if the app starts please

PeacefulPatriot115
01-31-2019, 05:49 AM
Thank you. Rolling back to 4.9.6.3 fixed everything. After trying to clean install 4.9.6.4, It would open once, promptly freeze upon any button press, and then never open again until I deleted everything and reinstalled.

Sparten
01-31-2019, 07:50 AM
Thank you. Rolling back to 4.9.6.3 fixed everything. After trying to clean install 4.9.6.4, It would open once, promptly freeze upon any button press, and then never open again until I deleted everything and reinstalled.
So when you say button press its a controller button press your talking about right ? thing is we just updated some controller code to auto detect if a device gets removed/inserted and from what you describe it could sound like the issue is related, so if you can please look in windows Event Viewer for and .NET and post them here if you find any, it will greatly help us debug the problem.

The Iron Wolf
01-31-2019, 03:28 PM
Guys, it would be helpful if you could check what exactly makes CC crash. See Event Viewer logs for CC crashes.

Also, what OS and build are you running?

Boowman
01-31-2019, 08:59 PM
I downloaded CrewChief and the version from the download opens up normally. But then when I try to update it to the latest version and try to launch the application, nothing happens. The application is not actually opening up.

I see it in my Task Manager as a running process, but the window doesn't appear anywhere. So I ended the process and tried reopening it and it's still the same issue. So I uninstalled it completely and reinstalled it, and it works fine again with the old version. But then when I go to update it again to the newest version, the same thing occurs. Anyone else having this issue or know what I can do to fix it?

I have this issue as well.

mr_belowski
01-31-2019, 09:07 PM
as The Iron Wolf says, we really do want to fix this issue but none of us can reproduce it, so we need to know what errors are shown in the Windows event logs and what happens if you remove the app's settings file

Jab31169
02-01-2019, 01:01 AM
Win7 here, no errors in event logs. Just hung it seems, old version posted starts right up

mr_belowski
02-01-2019, 09:31 PM
as we can't reproduce this issue at all, i've made a guess as to what might be causing it and reworked some of the controller handling in the app - if someone with this crash bug is feeling brave and helpful, here's a beta which might fix the issue. I'd appreciate any feedback :)

http://thecrewchief.org/showthread.php?38-Beta-Test-Thread&p=605&viewfull=1#post605

SteveC
02-03-2019, 07:33 PM
I've also got this problem. Event logs are empty. I've tried the 4.9.6.5 beta but issue remains. Still nothing in event logs. I've got F1 2018, Raceroom, pCARs2, AC currently installed

The Iron Wolf
02-03-2019, 08:10 PM
I've also got this problem. Event logs are empty. I've tried the 4.9.6.5 beta but issue remains. Still nothing in event logs. I've got F1 2018, Raceroom, pCARs2, AC currently installed

Thanks for getting back to us. Are you on Windows 7? Do you get CC hang or crash?

mr_belowski
02-03-2019, 08:41 PM
we're still working on the controller code, and I've uploaded an updated beta version of the app - same filename and same link (http://thecrewchief.org/showthread.php?38-Beta-Test-Thread&p=605&viewfull=1#post605). I'd be very interested to hear feedback on this one - whether it behaves the same or does something different.

If it still crashes, I also added a command line switch so if you launch this new beta from a shortcut that looks like this:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Britton IT Ltd\CrewChiefV4\CrewChiefV4.exe" NODEVICESCAN

it'll disable the automatic controller monitoring. Again, as we can't reproduce any of these issues I'd be very grateful for feedback

The Iron Wolf
02-03-2019, 09:29 PM
Guys, as we cannot reproduce the issue, it would be really helpful if you send us CC process dump. From what we read, it sounds like CC is hung, is still visible in the Task Manager. To get CC Process Dump:

* Open Task Manager and find CrewChief.exe running
* Right click on the CC and select Create dump file
* This will create CrewChiefV4.dmp in your temp folder (you can open it by pressing Win+R and typing %temp%).
* Upload saved CrewChiefV4.dmp to file sharing site: drop box/one drive/mediafire etc
* Send us a link to .dmp file

Thanks in advance.


http://i63.tinypic.com/25s4cpv.jpg

SteveC
02-04-2019, 05:07 PM
2nd beta made no difference. Messaged links to dump files

Sparten
02-04-2019, 05:09 PM
Can you please try and post the link again or attach the dump to a new post as a .zip

The Iron Wolf
02-04-2019, 09:09 PM
2nd beta made no difference. Messaged links to dump files

Thanks Steve! We can't figure it out from this dump yet, it looks like app is running, but we are still looking and dump helped to rule out some things.

If anyone else has CC hung, please, send your dumps as well.

mr_belowski
02-05-2019, 06:01 PM
this has been a right pain to track down. From the debug information you guys have sent we've narrowed it down to a few possibilities - if someone has a few minutes, can you please test the latest beta build here: http://thecrewchief.org/showthread.php?38-Beta-Test-Thread&p=605&viewfull=1#post605

(this is the exact same filename and link as before, but a new build)

thanks :)

mr_belowski
02-05-2019, 08:37 PM
anyone able to re-test this?

The Iron Wolf
02-05-2019, 09:17 PM
One more clarification: several people on this thread reported that CC starts once and disappears, or stops responding. We need CC process dump of this exact situation - when CC is not responding to the mouse/keyboard, or is only visible in Task Manager. Also, before capturing process dump kindly make sure CC is not minimized to tray.

http://thecrewchief.org/showthread.php?1013-Update-4-9-6-4-Not-Working&p=4959&viewfull=1#post4959

TeroD
02-06-2019, 10:08 AM
One more clarification: several people on this thread reported that CC starts once and disappears, or stops responding. We need CC process dump of this exact situation - when CC is not responding to the mouse/keyboard, or is only visible in Task Manager. Also, before capturing process dump kindly make sure CC is not minimized to tray.
I'm also experiencing the issue with 4.9.6.4 and tried the 4.9.6.5 Beta which didn't change anything as far as I could tell. Using Windows 10. I don't have a restore point to revert back to. But I have dump files from 4.9.6.5 Beta in different "stages".

One is from when CC is visible only in Task Manager.
https://mega.nz/#!kIgAVYZQ!m4_wXlEavmiM7XADx1Ifmypmoywvc7k81ZpNfEH Ft4o (https://mega.nz/#!kIgAVYZQ!m4_wXlEavmiM7XADx1Ifmypmoywvc7k81ZpNfEH Ft4o)

Another from when it eventually loads up and works (briefly). I was able to update sounds.
https://mega.nz/#!BdgUQQ7D!y-YyIGWKRGQzt6zisseSJaqkF5Q7TYrDkd5yT-z5aE0 (https://mega.nz/#!BdgUQQ7D!y-YyIGWKRGQzt6zisseSJaqkF5Q7TYrDkd5yT-z5aE0)

And the last one from when it stopped responding.
https://mega.nz/#!9cwWmSZC!924q78ZEIZqMu1GA5jysbVMYk5nslly17H6z0eD 5M7k (https://mega.nz/#!9cwWmSZC!924q78ZEIZqMu1GA5jysbVMYk5nslly17H6z0eD 5M7k)

It appears though that it starts responding again eventually

TeroD
02-06-2019, 10:09 AM
Annoying two post limit before posting links are allowed, but I understand why it exists :P

Sparten
02-06-2019, 11:37 AM
Thanks! @TheoD, that was exactly what we needed to find out there the app hangs, now its just a matter of understanding and fixing why it does that, so please stay tuned to this thread for updates to the beta version as we could use someone to test if we have fixed the issue, or if your a discord user you can join our channel by clicking HERE (http://thecrewchief.org/forumdisplay.php?25-Join-Discord) and hit one of the online admins up in a PM.

mr_belowski
02-06-2019, 04:50 PM
OK guys, i've made another beta with another speculative change - same download link and file name. We're having to change one thing at a time here, but we're definitely narrowing it down. Please try this with no additional startup options first. If it still hangs, can you try adding SKIP_DETACHED_DEVICES to the startup arguments - i.e. launch it from a shortcut that looks like this:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Britton IT Ltd\CrewChiefV4\CrewChiefV4.exe" SKIP_DETACHED_DEVICES

TeroD
02-07-2019, 09:42 AM
OK guys, i've made another beta with another speculative change - same download link and file name. We're having to change one thing at a time here, but we're definitely narrowing it down. Please try this with no additional startup options first. If it still hangs, can you try adding SKIP_DETACHED_DEVICES to the startup arguments - i.e. launch it from a shortcut that looks like this:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Britton IT Ltd\CrewChiefV4\CrewChiefV4.exe" SKIP_DETACHED_DEVICES
The app doesn't hang per se but takes about 6 minutes for the window to appear. For the 6 mins it's visible in Task Manager only.

It's the same without and with the SKIP_DETACHED_DEVICES argument.

TeroD
02-07-2019, 04:57 PM
Hmm, there was a reply by @The Iron Wolf earlier.. Anyway, I have that log file here:
https://mega.nz/#!tBpRwY7I!T6E6LmSoO1q01WcmGl8XigYyD8S3e5BVC6V7wHO r55g

And the argument to not scan devices didn't seem to change anything.

The Iron Wolf
02-07-2019, 05:28 PM
Hmm, there was a reply by @The Iron Wolf earlier.. Anyway, I have that log file here:
https://mega.nz/#!tBpRwY7I!T6E6LmSoO1q01WcmGl8XigYyD8S3e5BVC6V7wHO r55g

And the argument to not scan devices didn't seem to change anything.
Sorry for randomizing you Tero, I checked code after my post (which I did away from code) and saw that my request was pointless, as that switch won't disable initial scan.

Just wanted to tell you huge thanks - your dumps gave us ideas for fixes, so stay tuned.

If you would like to further help, could you try disconnecting various game controllers before starting CC and tell if it makes difference?

mr_belowski
02-07-2019, 06:33 PM
Yes, this has been a tremendous help TeroD, and we can only apologise for all this farting around.

To add to the farting around, the beta has been updated *again* with a slightly different approach to scanning for devices - can you give it a whirl when you get a moment. Please delete the file "Documents/CrewChiefV4/controllerConfigurationData.json" before you do

The Iron Wolf
02-07-2019, 06:38 PM
And kindly share console output with us when you do.

TeroD
02-08-2019, 11:38 AM
With the latest beta CC starts up and the window appears immediately! Here's the console output log.
https://mega.nz/#!kEIzEC5a!UeUve0ctHV6dcrAT1oyckFl_nF4QH5FkID1Ttcn F0Cw

TeroD
02-08-2019, 12:04 PM
Since yesterday I've been thinking if I might be having a unique unrelated issue as I remembered something while taking a look at the console log. I also haven't been simracing in some months but am planning to these days. Hence the CC update and checking it works and looking at iRacing options as I'm gonna test it out again. A yearly event of sorts since I quit iRacing some years ago :D

Anyway, back to the issue. With certain games, rFactor 2 for example, It takes about 80 seconds of "loading" before I see the main menu. And from its trace it shows it's something to do with initializing or detecting devices or a device. But like I said it's not all games, just some of them.

mr_belowski
02-08-2019, 12:09 PM
Thanks for the update. Can you try launching the app and leaving it running for a few minutes to see if we get any more log messages from long running device scans?

TeroD
02-08-2019, 12:41 PM
Ok, I will do that now

TeroD
02-08-2019, 01:08 PM
Here:
https://mega.nz/#!BVIVkKKY!N1FXXm4fzBnwTLoYkh-QPHGCXw7C2skeuVTLqSqhm2U

mr_belowski
02-08-2019, 01:18 PM
So it times out on every controller type :(

TeroD
02-08-2019, 01:57 PM
Oh right! I didn't even see/realise that for some reason. So it's not a good solution then :D

mr_belowski
02-12-2019, 08:08 PM
4.9.6.6 is now live, and should address the issues discussed in this thread (with any luck...)


For the guys who have been helping us test the beta versions, please delete Documents/CrewChiefV4/controllerConfigurationData.json before launching the app after updating to this new release

Mr Kippers
02-13-2019, 10:59 AM
Excellent stuff!